A Little More Info on Lady Pixel

Hi, I'm LadyPixel. I'm also known as Pixel, or simply as Lori Fuller. I'm a 31 year old mother of one, married, and just generally speaking a real nice person. (Or so I think.)

I have a multitude of hobbies, not the least of which is computing in its many forms. I used to run a small single-line WWIV BBS in Glendora, which was called Phoenix Rising BBS, and before that was called Changewinds BBS. I also have this web page, and I occasionally help out my husband, Gary, with other web pages here and there. I've been online since the mid-1980's, so I believe I qualify as an ancient computer geek at this point.

I'm a writer, and as such, I keep myself highly occupied doing tons of research. Right now, my current mainstay of authoring is Native American topics, such as the articles I published through the OCB Tracker Newspaper, which is now out of publication. Many people enjoyed my series "Going To The Powwow," although I must admit that I never knew what was going to happen to the poor people I was writing about until I got around to writing it.  While I haven't written any newer installments of the series for a couple years, I have not given up on it, so in the nebulous future, I will write more in that vein.  I also like to write articles on other aspects of history (I also had published, in the past, an article on women and reenacting the Civil War period), and short stories in both sci-fi and kid's genres.

I like to do stuff with my hands. I do craftwork a lot; anything from Native American beadwork and quillwork to knitting or crochet to counted cross-stitch to weaving to hand-sewing and machine sewing.  At the moment, I'm working on a wide variety of projects, but my mainstays are hand-knitted socks, afghans and blankets, cool ties (they're a neck cooler - you can see some at this page), quilts (although I'm not particularly good at those yet), and a very wide variety of Native American crafts.

I am a bookworm, and I spend many hours reading a whole variety of different things. My mainstay at this point is sci-fi or fantasy, and to that end, I joined the Los Angeles Science Fantasy Society (LASFS) years back.  LASFS is the oldest sci-fi fan group in the country, and has some distinguished members including Larry Niven and Jerry Pournelle, and at one time also included Gene Roddenberry (I believe his widow is a member, however, in his stead). However, sci-fi is not the end-all and be-all of my reading. As a former American History/Social Anthropology major in college, I learned that history-related reading material can be quite enjoyable, and since I collect Native American mythology, it fit right in. I have a dream of being able to act as a storyteller to my children and grandchildren as my life continues, and that seems to be a way to achieve that means. I also enjoy the occasional romance novel (although extremely rarely), and I do read a handful of other oddball materials.

I have a small garden, which I enjoy immensely. I also like to cook occasionally; I fancy myself to be quite a good cook. Between the garden and the kitchen, I can keep myself quite well fed (and my family, all of whom show signs of it in their weight). I like to be as close to nature as I possibly can be, and the garden is a great way to do that.

I'm a survivalist at heart, and so I learn everything I can to try to keep me and my family alive if we ever have any form of major disaster.  I can do some minor medical procedures, can build a shelter, start a fire, find foods in the wild, hunt and fish, and all sorts of other things along that vein.  It's a fun hobby, in many ways - and I learn all sorts of cool things that way.  It fits right into my collection of oddball trivia, too.

I'm very heavily into a sport called Geocaching.  It's essentially urban treasure hunting with a handheld GPS.  Our team (which consists of me, my husband, and our 11-year-old daughter) goes by the name of OCBTracker, so if you happen to be in the metro Los Angeles area at any point (or more specifically, in the eastern San Gabriel Valley region of LA county), feel free to seek out our geocaches!  We've got quite a few now.

I spend an awful lot of time at powwows over the weekends, mostly due to work - but on the other hand, I have great fun at these powwows.  Feel free to check the powwow calendar to see where we'll be at (usually, places we're headed to have a mention of "OCB will be there" in the listing somewhere), and stop by to visit us!

I am a blogger.  Or, rather, I'm a journaler; I keep a LiveJournal on a near-daily (and sometimes even more often) basis.  You can read my online journal here if you're so inclined.  It's primarily me discussing my day-to-day life, but I certainly don't mind others reading it.  My life is pretty much an open book.

Finally, for those of you who know me and are keeping track, the picture of me shown on this page is approximately... oh, shoot, I believe it was taken in 1996.  I haven't changed a whole lot since that shot was taken, although I will admit that I've both gained and lost weight since that shot was taken, and my hair has darkened a bit. 

 

Return To Lady Pixel's Place

Problems? Questions? Drop me a note!
Copyright pixel@ocbtp.com, 2004
Last updated on September 22nd, 2004.